Peyton Manning to be Inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Peyton Manning watches from the sidelines as Tennessee warms up for its season opener.
↓ Advertisement ↓

(WBIR) - Former Denver Broncos (and Tennessee Volunteers) quarterback Peyton Manning will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Tuesday.

Manning, who was a first-ballot selection, is set to become the 20th University of Tennessee football player to receive induction, according to the NFF.

The 60th NFF Awards Dinner is scheduled for Dec. 5, 2017, at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Related: University of Tennessee football players and coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame

↓ Advertisement ↓

Manning, 40, retired from professional football in March 2016 after winning five NFL MVPs and two Super Bowls, one with the Denver Broncos in 2015.

He played college football at the University of Tennessee from 1994-1997.

Manning owns multiple Tennessee records, including wins by a starting quarterback (39-6 record as a starter), passing yards (11,201), touchdown passes (89), total touchdowns (101, 89 passing/12 rushing) passing attempts (1,381), completions (863), completion percentage (62.5) and career 300-yard games (18).

MORE: Timeline of Peyton Manning's career

Manning joins his father Archie Manning in the College Football Hall of Fame, making them the first father-son duo to both be inducted as players.

The College Football Hall of Fame is located at 250 Marietta St. Northwest in Atlanta.

2017 College Football Hall of Fame class:


  • Bob Crable – LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)
  • Marshall Faulk – RB, San Diego State (1991-93)
  • Kirk Gibson – WR, Michigan State (1975-78)
  • Matt Leinart – QB, Southern California (2003-05)
  • Peyton Manning – QB, Tennessee (1994-97)
  • Bob McKay – OT, Texas (1968-69)
  • Dat Nguyen – LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)
  • Adrian Peterson – RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)
  • Mike Ruth – NG, Boston College (1982-85)
  • Brian Urlacher – DB, New Mexico (1996-99)


  • Danny Ford – 122-59-5 (66.9 percent); Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)
  • Larry Kehres – 332-24-3 (92.9 percent); Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)
  • Steve Spurrier – 228-89-2 (71.8 percent); Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)