Columbia, SC (WLTX) - Some school districts in the Midlands have decided to close schools while they deal with the continued damage left behind by Hurricane Matthew.

Orangeburg County Schools, for example, issued a joint release, saying that downed trees and powerlines would make travel difficult. They also said some schools are being used as a shelter.

Here are the list of schools and universities who've announced their plans.

Public Schools

Calhoun County Schools - closed Monday

Clarendon District 2 - closed Monday

Kershaw County Schools - closed Monday

Lee County Schools - closed Monday

Orangeburg School District 3 - Closed Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

Orangeburg School District 4 - Closed Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

Orangeburg School District 5 - Closed Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

Richland School District 1 - Webber Elementary to close Monday; all other schools on a 2-hour delay

Sumter County Schools - Closed Monday


Central Carolina Technical College - closed Monday

Claflin University - office open Monday, no classes until Tuesday

Denmark Tech - closed Monday

Orangeburg-Calhoun Tech - closed Monday

SC State University - closed Monday

Virginia College/Columbia Campus - No classes Monday

Voorhees College- Closed Monday

For a full list of non school related closings, click here.