Columbia, SC (WLTX) - President Barack Obama declared a major disaster in South Carolina Tuesday, ordering federal aid to 13 counties most affected by Hurricane Matthew.

The declaration came in response to a request from South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley.

With the declaration, money will now flow to the state to reimburse local governments, state agencies, eligible private non-profit organizations and electric co-operatives for certain expenses. The affected counties are Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion, and Williamsburg counties.

It's possible more counties could be added to that list. Federal aid has not yet been approved for individuals as of now.

Under the order, state and local governments could be eligible to get 75 percent reimbursement of approved costs for debris removal and emegency services.