(WLTX) -- Officials from the South Carolina State Emergency Response Team (SERT) lowered the state's emergency status Sunday afternoon.

They say the operations center and the team will continue to assist local governments and residents recover post Hurricane Matthew.

Here is an update from SERT as of 5 p.m. Sunday:

• The National Weather Service is currently monitoring major flooding along the Waccamaw, Little Pee Dee and Lumber rivers. Forecasters expect the Waccamaw River to remain at major flood stage for at least the next 10 to 14 days. They predict the Lumber River will remain in major flood stage though Monday, with the Little Pee Dee River remaining in major flood through Thursday.

• State agencies continue to support local relief missions in Dillon, Horry, Marion and Williamsburg counties where residents are either evacuated due to flooding or are in need of immediate relief supplies.

• Officers with the S.C. Department of Natural Resources continue water patrols in and around Colleton, Horry, Georgetown, Jasper and Marion counties.

• The S.C. Dept. of Education reports schools in several Pee Dee districts remain closed or are operating delayed schedules on Monday. Monitor local media for updates on school openings.

• The S.C. Dept. of Health and Environmental Control reports a total of 25 dams breached, 20 of which are state regulated, 5 are unregulated.

• The S.C. Dept. of Transportation reports as many as 117 state maintained roads and 21 bridges remain closed.

• 440 S.C. National Guardsmen remain on state active duty.

• Electric utilities report 8,469 storm-related power outages statewide.

• 5 emergency shelters are open, serving 163 occupants.

• The SCEMD Logistics Section has received 781 requests for resources from local public safety agencies, including requests for water rescue and incident management teams, power generators, bottled water and sandbags.

• County emergency managers, SCEMD and FEMA continue damage assessments in 25 counties affected by Hurricane Matthew to determine eligibility for federal relief programs.

• Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams from FEMA have deployed to Marion and Orangeburg counties to assist residents with applying for help through the Individual Assistance Program.

To learn how residents in Orangeburg and Marion can apply for federal assistance, click here.