The two state championship games at Benedict's Charlie W. Johnson Stadium were polar opposites.

The first contest was dominated by the defense. The second featured a record-setting offensive output by the winner.

In the Class A state championship, Abbeville won its third consecutive state championship with a 14-7 win over Bamberg-Ehrhardt.

After a scoreless first half, the Red Raiders opened the scoring with a 79-yard punt return by Jarid Manigault.

But the Panthers would score the final 14 points. JaBryant Sanders scored the Panthers first touchdown on a fumble recovery in the endzone, while Junior Rapley scored the game winning TD with 3:32 to play in the 4th quarter on a 26-yard run.

This marked the first time in school history Abbeville had won three consecutive state titles.

In the Class 2A contest, Lamar scored a state championship record 74 points and ranked up more than 700 yards of total offense in a 74-46 win over Baptist Hill.

Lamar finished the season undefeated, (15-0.) The Silver Foxes were led by Tyrik Herion with 248 yards on 22 carries and Jacquez Lucus with 221 yards on 12 carries. Lucas scored six touchdowns for the Silver Foxes.