(WLTX) -- SEC Football Media Days started on Monday, an unofficial kickoff to the 2017 college football season.

SEC Media Days is an opportunity for coaches and selected players to preview the upcoming season, before hitting the field for fall practice.

The South Carolina Gamecocks will take their turn at the podium on Thursday, July 13. Coach Will Muschamp, QB Jake Bentley, TE Hayden Hurst, and WR Deebo Samuel will represent South Carolina.

The rest of the schedule for SEC Football Media Days (Arkansas, LSU, and Tennessee went on Monday):


  • Georgia - Coach Kirby Smart, RB Nick Chubb, RB Sony Michel, LB Roquan Smith
  • Vanderbilt - Coach Derek Mason, LB Oren Burks, QB Kyle Shurmur, RB Ralph Webb
  • Mississippi State - Coach Dan Mullen, WR Donald Gray, LB Dez Harris, OL Martinas Rankin
  • Florida - Coach Jim McElwain, DB Duke Dawson, DB Marcell Harris, OL Martez Ivey


  • Alabama - Coach Nick Saban, OL Bradley Bozeman, DB Minkah Fitzpatrick, WR Calvin Ridley
  • Missouri - Coach Barry Odom, LB Eric Beisel, QB Drew Lock, WR J'Mon Moore
  • Texas A&M - Coach Kevin Sumlin, WR Christian Kirk, OL Koda Martin, DB Armani Watts
  • Kentucky - Coach Mark Stoops, S Mike Edwards, QB Stephen Johnson, LB Courtney Love


  • Ole Miss - Coach Hugh Freeze, OL Javon Patterson, QB Shea Patterson, DT Breeland Speaks
  • Auburn - Coach Gus Malzahn, K Daniel Carlson, DB Tray Matthews, OL Braden Smith.

The SEC Network will have coverage each day from SEC Football Media Days.

The first SEC Media Days were held in 1985 at the Holiday Inn Medical Center in Birmingham. The event has always been held in the Birmingham area. It's been held at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - Wynfrey Hotel since 2001.

Former Gamecocks' coach Steve Spurrier holds the record for most appearances as a head coach at SEC Football Media Days with 23. Alabama coach Nick Saban leads all active coaches with 15.

The attending media will also have the opportunity to vote for the predicted order of finish, overall SEC champion, and preseason All-SEC teams. The results will be released on Friday.

Alabama has been chosen as the projected SEC Champion five out of the last seven years. Since 1992, Florida has been selected eight times to be the conference champion. South Carolina has never been chosen as the projected champion.

News19's Joe Cook will be attending SEC Football Media Days. You can follow Joe on Twitter @JoeCookSports.