Lexington County Added to Disaster Declaration

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - Lexington County has been added to South Carolina areas eligible for federal disaster relief after a February storm that caused more than $430 million in damage.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said Wednesday that Lexington County had been added to 21 counties already eligible for the aid. Last month, the White House announced President Barack Obama had approved Gov. Nikki Haley's relief request.

The declaration means federal funding is available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged between Feb. 10 and Feb. 14.

The storm left up to an inch of ice that snapped trees and branches across a wide swath of the state and dumped snow in the Upstate.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment