Obama Declares Major Disaster in South Carolina

Washington, DC (WLTX) - President Obama has declared a major disaster in South Carolina for the winter storm that hit the state last month.

The decision came Wednesday.

Governor Nikki Haley had requested the declaration to help the state recover from the storm that hit between February 10th and the 14th.

The governor's office estimates the state suffered $55 million in damage. By approving the request, the federal government could pick up as much as 75 percent of the costs expended by the state and local governments.

The funds are available to state and eligible local governments and some nonprofits in the following counties: Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, Saluda, Sumter, and Williamsburg.

South Carolina hasn't requested a major disaster declaration since 2006.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment