People in Sumter, Lee Counties Can Now Get Disaster Help

The National Weather Service says flood warnings continue for parts of the state.

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved 15 more counties for individual assistance after Hurricane Matthew.

FEMA said Monday the additional counties are Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Jasper, Lee, Sumter and Williamsburg.

The help can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs. Low-cost loans are available for uninsured property losses.

Survivors can register online at or by calling 800-621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing should call 800-462-7585 (TTY); those who use Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 AM to 10 PM seven days a week until further notice.

Marion and Orangeburg counties were previously approved for individual assistance.

Related Coverage: Haley Asks for Donations to Help Hurricane Victims

Other counties have been approved for public assistance. The money is available to help state agencies, local governments and some nonprofit groups recover losses from the storm.

Those counties are Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Hampton, Lee and Sumter.

Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion, and Williamsburg counties were previously designated for public assistance.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment