Dabo Is A Bear Bryant Award Finalist

Clemson head football coach Dabo Swinney is sevenf finalists for the 2017 Paul "Bear" Bryant Coachn of the Year Award presented by the American Heart Association and Marathon Oil.

Swinney joins a list that includes:

Paul Chryst - University of Wisconsin 
Clay Helton - University of Southern California 
Scott Frost – formerly with the University of Central Florida now with the University of Nebraska 
Gus Malzahn - Auburn University 
Jeff Monken - Army 
Kirby Smart - University of Georgia 
Dabo Swinney - Clemson University 

The Bear Bryant Award honors coaches for their accomplishments on and off the field. The Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor selected after all bowl games have concluded and is voted on by the National Sports Media Association.

Swinney has led the Tigers to a 12-1 record and a spot in the College Football Playoffs for the third consecutive year.

Also former USC head football coach Steve Spurrier will be the recipient of the Bear Bryant 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. The all-time winningest coach for the Gamecocks and his alma mater, Florida, Spurrier was recently inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame for a second time.

© 2018 WLTX-TV


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment