Cann, Davis Make USA TODAY All-American Team

South Carolina offensive lineman A.J. Cann and running back Mike Davis have made the USA TODAY Sports Pre-season All-American team.

Cann made the first team, while Davis made the second unit. Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley made the first-team defense.

USA TODAY Sports' college football staff pored over rosters and depth charts across the Football Bowl Subdivision to identify the finest players in college football heading into the 2014 season. Each All-American team features 25 players: 11 on offense, 11 on defense, one kicker, one punter and one return specialist.

Of the 50 players listed, 10 made USA TODAY Sports' All-American team to end last season: Beasley, Michigan State defensive end Shilique Calhoun, Oregon cornerback Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Florida State kicker Roberto Aguayo, North Carolina return specialist Ryan Switzer, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, Florida State offensive tackle Cameron Erving, Mississippi safety Cody Prewitt and Stanford return specialist Ty Montgomery.

The Seminoles lead all programs with seven players, led by Winston, the reigning Heisman Trophy winner.



QB – Marcus Mariota, Oregon (junior)RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia (junior)RB – Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska (senior)TE – Nick O'Leary, Florida State (senior)WR – Antwan Goodley, Baylor (senior)WR – Nelson Agholor, USC (junior)OL – Andrus Peat, Stanford (junior)OL – A.J. Cann, South Carolina (senior)OL – Hroniss Grasu, Oregon (senior)OL – Tre' Jackson, Florida State (senior)OL – Brandon Scherff, Iowa (senior)


DL – Vic Beasley, Clemson (senior)DL – Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State (junior)DL – Leonard Williams, USC (junior)DL – Randy Gregory, Nebraska (junior)LB – Eric Striker, Oklahoma (junior)LB – Ramik Wilson, Georgia (senior)LB – Trey DePriest, Alabama (senior)DB – Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon (senior)DB – Su'a Cravens, USC (sophomore)DB – Landon Collins, Alabama (junior)DB – Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech (sophomore)


K – Roberto Aguayo, Florida State (sophomore)P – Mike Sadler, Michigan State (senior)RET – Ryan Switzer, North Carolina (sophomore)



QB – Jameis Winston, Florida State (sophomore)RB – Mike Davis, South Carolina (junior)RB – Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin (junior)TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama (sophomore)WR – Tyler Lockett, Kansas State (senior)WR – Rashad Greene, Florida State (senior)OL – Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (senior)OL – Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech (junior)OL – Reese Dismukes, Auburn (senior)OL – Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi (sophomoreOL – Cam Erving, Florida State (senior)


DL – Joey Bosa, Ohio State (sophomore)DL – Danny Shelton, Washington (senior)DL – Robert Nkemdiche, Mississippi (sophomore)DL – Michael Bennett, Ohio State (senior)LB – A.J. Tarpley, Stanford (senior)LB – Denzel Perryman, Miami (Fla.) (senior)LB – Myles Jack, UCLA (sophomore)DB – Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida (sophomore)DB – Jalen Ramsey, Florida State (sophomore)DB – Cody Prewitt, Mississippi (senior)DB – Trae Waynes, Michigan State (junior)


K – Marshall Morgan, Georgia (junior)P – Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (junior)RET – Ty Montgomery, Stanford (senior)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment