Dawn Staley Named SEC Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (AP, WLTX) - Meighan Simmons of Tennessee has been selected as player on the year on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference women's basketball team, while South Carolina's Dawn Staley was a unanimous choice for the coaching honor.

The awards announced Tuesday also included the top newcomer, which went to South Carolina freshman Alaina Coates.

Staley was rewarded for guiding South Carolina (27-4) to its first SEC championship with a 14-2 mark. The Gamecocks also landed a No. 1 seed in the NCAAs, despite losing to Kentucky in the semifinals of the league tournament.

South Carolina's Tiffany Mitchell was a unanimous first team selection. Aleighsa Welch made the second team.


u-Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee

Meighan Simmons, Tennessee

Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

t-Martha Alwal, Mississippi State

t-Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt

t-Tia Faleru, Mississippi


Theresa Plaisance, LSU

Bri Kulas, Missouri

Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina

Jaterra Bonds, Florida

Tyrese Tanner, Auburn


Shacobia Barbee, Georgia; Alaina Coates, South Carolina; Jessica Jackson, Arkansas; Valencia McFarland, Mississippi; Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky; DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment