711 36 LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

Columbia, SC (WLTX) -- A National Moment of Silence is being planned for this evening around the country, as peaceful vigils, in part as a response to the conflicts between demonstrators and law enforcement in Ferguson, Missouri.

Vigils are being conducted around the country at the same time: 7PM Eastern, 6PM Central, 5PM Mountain, and 4PM Pacific.

The moment of silence will begin at 7:20pm (EST)

In Columbia, the NMOS14 gathering happens in front of the State House, starting at 7PM, with the Vigil moment of silence starting at 7:20PM. Local organizers have set up a Facebook event page for the gathering, here: http://on.fb.me/1nSqMmt.

Attendees are asked to wear a red ribbon, cloth, or bandanna on the right arm. If wearing red could cause conflicts locally, organizers ask that people not wear the color, as all gatherings are to be peaceful.

The hashtag #NMOS14 is being used across all Social Media outlets, and a master document of all events is being maintained online at this link: http://bit.ly/Vj3NKg.

Read or Share this story: http://on.wltx.com/VoZKvK