(WLTX) --- Each year RBC Heritage pumps more than $80 million into the State of South Carolina's economy.

On Sunday, a pair of major winners pumped some drama into the tournament as former U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell and reigning U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson went to a playoff to determine the 2013 RBC Heritage Champion.

McDowell, who bogeyed the 72nd hole to fall into a tie with Simpson at 9-under, would par the first hole of the playoff. Simpson's seven-foot putt for par would not drop, giving McDowell his first win on tour in three years.

The Northern Irishman's name now goes into the history books as another major winner who has also conquered Harbour Town.

Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Bernhard Langer, Greg Norman, Johnny Miller, Nick Price, Tom Watson, Davis Love III and the late Payne Stewart are a part of the Harbour Town history.

Read or Share this story: