The best ways to avoid Malware infections is to keep Anti-Virus software updated, and be skeptical of items like this.

1169 53 9 LINKEDIN 1 COMMENTMORE

Columbia, SC (WLTX) -- The latest attempts by hackers to infiltrate your computer feeds off of voyeuristic curiosity many have regarding their friends on Facebook.

When some users log onto Facebook, they're presented with an ad post showing a friend's picture and "See {Friend}'s naked video," or "{Friend Name's} Private Video"

When the link is clicked, users are sent to a very realistic-looking mockup of a YouTube page, where the hackers will try to immediately install the Malware Trojan.

If your anti-virus software does catch that first attempt, after you bypass the fake age restriction claims on the fake YouTube page, you'll be shown a bogus Adobe Flash Player update that needs to run before viewing the video.

This is where many users get hooked by the Malware hackers: even if the first anti-virus scanner caught the attempt, once the link is clicked, the computer is infected with the Malware.

Bitdefender reports that more than 2 million computers worldwide have been infected so far.

International anti-virus company Bitdefender reports that the Malware, "Trojan.FakeFlash.A," jumps into the user's web browser as an extension, and then accesses your own photos posted to Facebook, and pushing a new fake advertisement to YOUR friends, claiming they can see a naked video of you.

Hackers have long used fake software updates, fake browser plugin updates, and fake Flash player updates to install Malware on unsuspecting computer users.

The best advice to protect yourself against Malware attacks such as these is to install anti-virus software, and make sure it's updated regularly with the latest protections.

1169 53 9 LINKEDIN 1 COMMENTMORE
Read or Share this story: http://on.wltx.com/1cdMMJa