Breaking News
More () »

$435 million available for small towns in South Carolina from American Rescue Plan Act

States were required to request funds for local governments with populations less than 50,000. In South Carolina, 254 towns and municipalities qualify.
Credit: SkyLine - stock.adobe.com

COLUMBIA, S.C. — Small towns in South Carolina could soon be seeing an influx of federal dollars thanks to the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Fund included in the American Rescue Plan Act. All states were requested to complete and file an official request for funding on behalf of local governments with populations less than 50,000 -- cities, towns, villages or other types of government collectively called Non-Entitlement Units (NEUs).

In South Carolina, the Department of Administration filed the official request for the 254 NEUs eligible to use the funding based on defined federal guidelines. A list of qualifying entities in South Carolina (and their populations) can be found through the link at the US Department of Treasury website.

Midlands municipalities that qualify include:

  • Arcadia Lakes: population = 2,859
  • Batesburg-Leesville: 5,415
  • Blythewood: 4,150
  • Camden: 7,220
  • Cayce: 14,009
  • Chapin: 1,633
  • Eastover: 841
  • Forest Acres: 10,298
  • Gilbert: 643
  • Irmo: 12,483
  • Jenkinsville: 43
  • Kershaw: 2,321
  • Lexington: 22,157
  • Little Mountain: 294
  • Manning: 3,892
  • Peak: 63
  • Pelion: 711
  • West Columbia: 17,998

NEUs may submit applications for funding beginning the week of August 30. According to the Department of Administration, from the time an application is submitted and requirements verified, a NEU can expect to receive funding within 10 business days. The Municipal Association of South Carolina is assisting NEUs in gathering the data needed for applications.

Payments will be made through state government, funding amounts will be based on NEU population.

For more information, see the links at the Treasury website and Municipal Association of South Carolina.